The NAFC started as the Rice and Corn Coordinating Council or RCCC in 1958 by virtue of Republic Act 2084.

          It was tasked to oversee interagency activities on rice and corn production.In 1964, the RCCC was replaced by the Rice and Corn Authority (RCA) through Executive Order No. 62 under the Office of the President. Apart from overseeing the rice and corn production, it was also tasked to supervise its supply and distribution.

          Two years later, the Rice and Corn Production Coordinating Council (RCPCC) replaced the RCA by virtue of Executive Order No. 50. For the first time, the government sought to harness community participation in the government's grain programs.

          About three years later, the country's food requirement outgrew the effectiveness of the RCPCC. Thus, in 1969, the National Food and Agriculture Council (NFAC) was formed through Executive Order 183.

          The NFAC was charged with the supervision and coordination of the government's food sufficiency program, which included for the first time, crops other than rice and corn. It also assisted the Department of Agriculture in the formulation of the goals, and defining the scope of the country's food and agricultural policies, plans and programs.

          Three policy declarations transformed the NFAC significantly. In 1980, Executive Order 596 recognized the prime role of farmers in food production. Their participation in the NFAC was redefined and encouraged. The following year, Executive Order 754 expanded NFAC's functions to include non-agricultural concerns. In 1982, the DA through Executive Order No. 803 adopted the Integrated Area Management System approach in the delivery of inputs and services to the farmers. The NFAC assisted the DA in integrating and coordinating the provision of all agricultural goods to the farmers.

          On January 30, 1987, the Agricultural and Fishery Council were established under Executive Order 116 and created as an advisory body at the regional, provincial, municipal, primarily to promote private sector participation in agricultural and fishery development through consultation, advocacy, planning, monitoring and project evaluation.


Mr. Edgardo C. Quisumbing,Ph. D
Deputy Executive Director
June 28, 1977 to May 30, 1985
Mr. Eddie C. Chu
Deputy Executive Director
January 3, 1986 to March 31, 1986
Mr. Jesus S. Binamira
Deputy Executive Director
April 1, 1986 to August 24, 1987
Ms. Guia R. Minguez
Deputy Executive Director
August 25, 1987 to March 4, 1989
Mr. Emmanuel L. Penson
Deputy Executive Director
January 16, 1990 to August 15, 1992
Ms. Teresita R. Lalap
Deputy Executive Director
August 16, 1992 to September 30, 1998
Mr. Manuel R. Jarmin
Deputy Executive Director
October 1, 1998 to July 31, 1999
Atty. Jovy C. Bernabe
Deputy Executive Director
August 2, 1999 to March 15, 2004
Mr. Carlito P. Fernandez
Deputy Executive Director
March 16, 2004 to July 24, 2007
Ms. Maria Luz A. Enriquez ,Ph. D
Deputy Executive Director
July 25, 2007 to September 22, 2010

 Engr. Noel A. Juliano
Deputy Executive Director
September 23, 2010 to March 4, 2013